Fern Leaf


Yesterday morning I decided to test my newly acquired Neewer 48 LED ring light on our backyard where my wife cultivates a hanging fern.  Since its place is in a dark corner of the yard, it was difficult taking pictures of the plant unless you had a very bright sunlight.  As you know, when the sun is too bright, the light is very hard and the pictures are saturated with strong dark shadows which hampers the quality of the shot.

The challenge was to use an oyster white diffuser early in the morning and see what would came out of the camera obscura.  Below is the picture of a nice green fern leaf.  Slowly but surely I’m expanding my photography gear with a minimalistic approach—retirees don’t enjoy fat wallets.  🙂

A nice touch of green at our backyard where my wife has a large fern plant. I used the Neewer 48 LED ring light to brighten up a dark corner of the backyard. I liked the results. This was my first picture using this modest LED ring light. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

2 thoughts on “Fern Leaf”

  1. I am getting my feet wet with close-up photography. Recently purchased a minimalistic Vivitar macro lens and ordered a PDF book dubbed “Up Close: A Guide to Macro & Close Photography” authored by Andrew S. Gibson.

    That should put me on the way of taking close-up shots of stuff around the house. It’s amazing what you will find in everyday things like crystals of salt or sugar, just to name two sujects.

    Thank you for the link. Will take a look during the day at the installation on Front Street in Greenport. The building does look like a huge camera.

    Have a great day, Joe.

    Regards,

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

