Protecting your LED Camera’s Screen


I now own two cameras, (e.g., a Canon DSLR EOS Rebel T2i and a Canon P&S PowerShot A720 IS).  Both have been with me several years, specially the latter.  In an effort to protect the vulnerable screen from scratches and other accidents prone to happen during photo shooting sessions, I recently purchased two screen protectors.  Below is a brief description of each one:

I.  DSLR LCD Screen Protector – The Third Generation

This product is manufactured by GGS. As hard as I looked all over the box, I couldn’t find where the product was manufactured.  I’m speculating that it was produced in China—that’s where most of our products come from these days.  Product was purchased from Amazon online for $11.81, not including air transportation to Panama City, Panama where I live.

Early last night I installed it without a hitch.  It fitted the frame of my camera’s screen like a glove.  If you will look at the camera, you will not notice  the recent addition.  Just to be on the safe side, I viewed a YouTube installation video which I followed closely.  It turned out to be exactly what I was looking for.

The Third Generation protector is a new product with a black ABS frame which matches beautifully with the Canon T2i camera.  The raw material is made of optical glass for professional use with an explosion-proof film.  Amongst its features are:

  1. Its explosion-proof film has an elasticity pressure up to 12kg/cm (square) preventing the LCD screen from being adversely affected.
  2. Except the round framing eyepiece, the protector includes anti-fog and anti-dust features.
  3. It is manufactured with a special treatment to guarantee hardness and durability which will prevent the LCD screen from being rubbed, scraped or scratched.
  4. It uses a 0.5mm ultra thin optical glass with at least 90 percent transmittance.  The images on the screen are displayed fully focused after the accessory has been installed.
  5. With the connection of push-pull type or bayonet fixing, it is very easy to install and remove for cleaning and preventive maintenance.

The screen protector came in a sturdy plastic box to adequately protect the product during delivery from the States to Panama City, Panama.  Below are several pictures of the accessory:

Snapshot of two camera screen protectors’ boxes  recently received from Amazon.com. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Snapshot of my DSLR Canon EOS Rebel T2i camera with the GGS Third Generation LCD screen protector installed. It matches perfectly with the black body of the camera. I love it. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

If you belong to the generation of photographers that want to protect your gear against all harm, then this product is definitely for you.  It’s a great product at a very reasonable price.

II.  Invisible Shield for Canon PowerShot A720 IS

This photography accessory was purchased from Amazon.com with a price tag of $12.30.  The screen protector is manufactured by Zagg (www.zagg.com) in the United States.  According to the box, the product is guaranteed for life.  This is very important, since I had a disappointing experience with it yesterday morning.  Even though I followed their printed instructions to the letter, the installation was a total failure.  I consider this product to be of a very low quality which is not worth a copper.  The film was instantly filled with air bubbles and there was no way they could be eliminated.  After struggling for several minutes, I decided to remove it completely and throw it to the waste basket where it belonged.

I plan to let Amazon know about this problem so they can talk to Zagg about their defective merchandise.  If I were you, I would not touch this product with a twenty-foot pole.  It’s that bad–and then some.  Below are pictures of the box, so you will recognize it and avoid buying it, thus saving hard-earned money and precious time.

Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Whenever you see this product, a red flag should pop up in your head. Keep it away from you at a safe distance. I lost my money and my time by buying this low-quality product. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

After I finish this post, I will write to Amazon about this defective product and see if I can get my money back.  If not, I guess it will be a lesson to be learned.  Not all that glitters is gold.  I have other photography stuff which I also ordered from Amazon and will be unpacking and posting them here for your information.  Crossing my fingers that they will perform as advertised.  Good Day.

Leave a Reply

