Idioms


If English is not your native language and you are pulling your hair and grinding or clenching your teeth because you can’t take it any more, please take a pause.  Take a deep breath, and start again.  In the meantime, I have good news for you—the cavalry is coming in your rescue.  You’re about to learn a new idiomatic phrase.

For your information, idioms are the usage or vocabulary that is characteristic of a specific group of people or an expression whose meanings cannot be inferred from the meanings of the words that make it up.  These idiomatic expressions kept me from sleeping more than one night, when I was studying English in my prime time.  They still do, now and then.

The new idiom for today is, “head over heels”.  It means to be in love with someone very much.  Often used with “fall” to describe the beginning of a relationship.  Example:  “They met at a nightclub and instantly fell head over heels for one another.”

In a recently article about a tragic event in Marysville High School, Washington which resulted in two dead students, a journalist wrote, “Social media posts penned by the shooter in Friday’s rampage at a Washington State high school portray a head-over-heels teenager who grew more and more tormented when the relationship fell apart.”  Now you can add another idiom to your English baggage.

See?  The language isn’t all that complicated, isn’t it?  Nyet, I’m just kidding.  It is complicated, but if you keep pushing and pushing, it will gradually sink in.  Enjoy your English lessons and have a Good Day.

4 thoughts on “Idioms”

  1. I was trying to think if I knew any other use for “head of heels.” Sometimes, it’s used to describe someone tumbling down stairs, or falling off something: “She went head over heels.” Now I’m wonderfing if the stair-falling came first, and then then the phrase got applied to other experiences, like falling in love. I do love the idioms – this is a good one.

    1. I first found about the idiom when I read the mentioned article on the Internet. It meant nothing to me, until I “googled” it and found out what the meaning was.

      Over the years, I’ve fallen head over heels on the English language. As I retiree I have more time to research its origins and history. Lots of fun.

      Bye,

      Omar.-

  2. Sin consultar a http://www.linguee.com, yo lo traduciría como: ” Se conocieron en un club nocturno y enseguida se fueron de cabeza el uno por el otro… También podría decir ( y ésta me parece mejor) “… y enseguida se flecharon”. Saludos.

Leave a Reply

