Elaborate Carvings of an Indian Wooden Table


After we got married on July 12, 1980 and moved into our new home, one of the first things we bought after a bed, dining table and a small Mabe gas stove; was an Indian wooden table.  I needed it to place a 19″ Panasonic TV set I had won in a raffle at work.  Always thought it was very attractive.

Even though I see the table every day when I sit at the dining table three times a day (breakfast, lunch and supper), I never took a close look at it until yesterday evening.  I was looking at the table every day, but as it usually happens with many of us, I wasn’t “seeing” the table.  It was time to capture the elaborate carvings of the wooden table with my ole compact P&S Canon PowerShot A720 IS.  It’s amazing that such detail, hard work, and dedicated could be had for only $20.00.

That’s why American companies are migrating to Asia to set up their factories.  Salaries are so cheap, and the quality of work so high, that it’s a perfect business model to make a killing in the marketplace.  Thus the expanding manufacturing industry in India, China, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Malaysia, Vietnam and so on and so forth.  Sorry for digressing.  Let me go back to the snapshots of our cute Indian table, companion of many years.  Here we go.

Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
In this picture, you can clearly see the hand carving of flowers and a large leaf in the middle. So much beauty sold at a bargain price. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
2 thoughts on “Elaborate Carvings of an Indian Wooden Table”

  1. i had a carved wooden box when I was younger. I’m sure it came from India, also. Your table reminded me of it — and I do like the leaf, particularly. Cunny that it looks like the huge maple leaves that used to gather in our yard in the fall.

  2. Interesting that you find the carved leaf of the Indian table, similar to maple leaves in the States. When I first saw it, the first thing that came to my mind was the maple leaf, symbol of Canada.

    Small world, isn’t it?

    BTW, are you taking pictures with your new Canon PowerShot camera?

    Best Wishes,

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

