More Efficient Batteries In The Pipeline


One of the main problems I have with my gadgets is that the battery drainage is terrible.  This is constantly happening with my iPad, cameras, cellphone and laptop.  Even though I often replace the batteries in an effort to avoid charging them frequently, the problem persist.  Nothing bothers me so much as running out of batteries while in the middle of a shooting spree.  Thus I always have several spare AA batteries to be on the safe side.  But it still is a pain in the neck to deal with this irritating inconvenience.

Credit: Inhabitat.com – Kristine Lofgren

Recently while scanning the Web, I found out that good news were on the way to solve the battery drainage problem.  “New batteries charge to 70 percent in two minutes and last twenty times longer.”

“We use rechargeable batteries for practically everything these day— from our toothbrushes to our cars—but when a battery runs down, it can put a damper on our daily routine. Now imagine that instead of waiting an hour for your phone to charge up, you only had to wait two minutes – and that the same quick-charging battery can last 20 years. That battery will soon be a reality thanks to a team of researchers who developed a lithium-ion battery that can charge 70 percent in just two minutes and lasts 20 times longer than a battery today.”

“A battery that efficient could charge a car in as little as 15 minutes and wouldn’t have to be replaced as often. Instead of spending 5 minutes filling up on gas, a car could spend 5 minutes getting enough juice to dramatically extend its range. If it sounds too good to be true, the researchers say that they expect to have the battery on the market in just two years.”

“The technology isn’t entire new, which is part of the reason the battery seems like it could really happen in the next few years. Instead of reinventing the wheel, the researchers just built on existing technology, using titanium oxide gel – the same stuff in your sunscreen. The gel actually helps speed up the charging process, making the battery last 20-times longer and charge 20-times as fast than traditional lithium-ion batteries.”

This super battery was developed by scientists from Nanyang Technological University (NTU Singapore). The technology is currently being licensed to an undisclosed  company and the NTU scientists expects that the new generation of fast-charging batteries will hit the market in two years’ time. It holds a lot of potential in overcoming the longstanding power issues related to electro-mobility.

This technological breakthrough holds a lot of potential in overcoming the longstanding power issues related to electro-mobility.  Once these fast-charging, long-lasting batteries make their way into things like cameras and cellphones it will be a gamechanger for the electro-mobility industry.  I’m so excited to be alive in this day and age when the line between reality and science-fiction is becoming more and more blurred.  Good Day.
4 thoughts on “More Efficient Batteries In The Pipeline”

  1. Before I got my new Canon, I read that it was a battery killer. I didn’t know how quickly it could drain a battery! I’ve adjusted some of the settings now, and that’s helped considerably, but I was quick to order a spare battery. I’m used to using AAs in my little point-and-shoot, and they last far longer than the one in the new camera. Longer-lived batteries would be a very good thing.

    1. If the scientists at Singapore get it right, we won’t have to worry about battery drainage for a long while.

      I also use rechargeable AA batteries for my P&S camera. But they don’t last very long, before I have to charge them again.

      Regards,

      Omar.-

  2. One of the things on the plus side of my MacBook Air, I read, is that it has incredible battery life. The HP notebook, in fact all of my notebooks, had pretty lousy batteries. When power would go out they were good for a couple of hours, MAX, then pfffft! So after letting my Airbook charge for a day I unhooked it and ran on battery alone for over 15 hours! On line with several windows going at once.

    Also, as Apple recommends, and I’ve known for a long time, you need to “exercise” your battery. Let it run down until it’s practically dead every now and then. The things have a “memory” and if you only let them run down to , say, 40% all the time and then start to recharge them they will begin to think that they only operate at a 60% rate.

    I have always bought cameras that use AA batteries since the worst thing with a rechargeable camera would be to run out of power when that perfect picture popped up and you couldn’t take it because of a dead battery. I also use, most of the time, rechargeable AAs and have to say their life disappoints me, so I have a LOT of them. Naturally I have a recharger that plugs into the wall, but I also have a solar recharger. It charges two batteries at a time, and on a good, sunny day i can get four recharged.

  3. I have the same battery problem with my Sony Vaio laptop. It’s rated to have a 3.5 hour-charge battery, but it’s not true. After an hour, I have to recharge it again. That is not a problem for me, because I seldom take it out of my home office, so charging it is only connecting the A/C cable to the device. Piece of cake.

    I’m amazed that your Apple Macbook Air has a battery life of 15 hours between charges. If you’re on the road a lot, that is a real advantage, or if you are a frequent flier and work on your computer during flights. Good thing.

    I also use rechargeable AA batteries for my compact P&S camera. I have four of them. Whenever I go out on a shooting spree, I carry in my pocket a pair of fully-charged batteries just in case. Never had a problem.

    My recharger, that also plugs on the wall, will hold four batteries, which is highly convenient. Usually I recharge two batteries at a time. The other two are always ready to shoot in my camera. So far the strategy has worked without a hitch.

    I have never seen a solar recharger. Out of curiosity I’ll take a look at Amazon to see what they’re all about. You know how curious I am regarding technology.

    Thank you for your interesting and valuable comment. BTW, tomorrow I will publish a blog post about several interesting words which changed their meaning over time. I hope readers will learning something new about this vibrating living language called English.

    Best Wishes,

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

