Dipping My Toes Into Macro Photography


As I continue to travel through the paths of the fascinating field of photography, I’m discovering new areas I wish to explore more.  Some of these areas of interest are:  street photography, macro photography, seascape photography, landscape photography and portraitures.  As you can see, photography is never-ending universe in itself.

Lately I’ve read about the different techniques of macro photography.  Capturing creatures or objects so small that you can barely see them with your naked eye is something I definitely would like to dip my toes into.  As a matter of fact, I’m ordering from Amazon today several photography accessories to enhance my macro shots:

  • Neewer 48 macro LED ring flash light
  • Vivitar 52mm close up macro filters (+1, +2, +4, and +10)

These items will help me out to shoot better macro pictures without spending a bundle.  When the time is ripe, I’ll probably go for the real thing:  a Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 macro USM lens which can be had for about $599.00.  But that will take a while.  For the time being, the mentioned accessories will do just fine.

Below are a couple of shots of lilliputian white and yellow flowers discovered in our back yard.  The macro pictures were taken with a DSLR Canon EOS Rebel T2i and a “nifty-fifty” lens (e.g., EF 50mm f/1.8 II).  It was a very bright day with lots of light, so I installed a Hoya polarizing filter to avoid blowing out the shots.  Take a look at the cute miniscule flowers.  This is what I plan to do more in the future when my order arrives.

(Please click image to expand.) Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
This was the closest I could get to the flowers. With the proper accessories I can get a lot closer, and that is what I really want. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
2 thoughts on “Dipping My Toes Into Macro Photography”

  1. I love macro photography, I’m especially amazed by the people who can manage to capture butterflies and bugs, as well as flower blossoms. I don’t think I told you I finally chose a new camera. More about that later — I’m on lunch break now and really haven’t time.

    But — one thing I like and one reason I chose it is that I can get much closer to things: 5 cm rather than 20 cm. I’ve hardly messed with it yet, but the day is coming! (Oh — it’s a Canon Powershot G1X Mark II. I nearly went true DSLR, but decided against it for a number of reasons.)

  2. In many ways we are similar in our tastes and preferences. I love those pictures of microcosms which are invisible to the naked eye. Small particles of salt and sugar look like glittering diamonds under a good marcro lens. It’s such an amazing area of photography to explore.

    Congratulations on your new gear. Can’t wait to see your pictures. We already know how good you are with words. I’ll take a look at this camera on the Internet to see how it looks like and its main specs.

    Have fun with your new camera.

    Bye,

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

