Now We’re Ready to Rumble


After the mess caused by a recent power shortage in my house which torched my ole HP desktop and router, finally my Wi-Fi network is back in shape.  My wireless network is not that big, but it serves my minimalistic needs.  The network consists of:

  • Amazon Kindle Fire – Mainly used for reading e-books in bed.
  • Apple iPad – Mainly used to surf the web when I’m outside my home office.
  • Apple TV – Mainly used to watch YouTube videos and Netflix movies on a 32″ LED TV.
  • Cellphone – Mainly used to send or receive e-mails besides making and/or receiving calls.
  • HP Printer – Mainly used to print documents from my iPad when I’m out of my home office.  This is very convenient for a family with several computers which can be connected to only one shared printer.  It’s like walking on water.

Below are several pictures of my new router which I installed and configured early Monday morning.  It was the last step to fix the problems caused by the explosion of a transformer in our neighborhood about a week ago. I’m glad everything was ironed out and all my gadgets are working fine.

Snapshot of the box containing my new router. It’s a TP-Link router N600 Model  No. TL-WDR3600 purchased at a local computer store in Panama called Yoytec. The device had a selling price of $61.90, just about what you would get it for in the States. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Snapshot of the router inside the box with a mini installation Resource CD, warranty, Owner’s Manual and Quick Installation Guide. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Snapshot of the router perched on top of my computer table. As you can see, it looks like a rectangular black bull with its vertical horns—not an aesthetic view at all. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

The electronic device comes with a Quick Setup feature in its web management page that leads you through a step-by-step process to set up your router. Alternatively, you can use the Tether app to do the setup. Either way, you don’t need to install any software or use a CD to finish the setup. I preferred to use the CD alternative. Installation was a breeze; within minutes, the router was up and running.

Now Omar has a bright big smile on his face.  Good Day.

6 thoughts on “Now We’re Ready to Rumble”

  1. So glad you’re back in business, and that things went so easily. As for the router — here’s how old I am. I can see the bull, but the first thing I thought of were the old spindles that sat on office desks. You know: as in “Don’t fold, spindle or mutiliate.”

  2. Yes, it’s so good to have my home office working as it should. Typing in a comfortable keyboard is a wonderful sensation. I just can’t type in a crowded laptop keyboard, even though I have small fingers. I guess it’s a matter of old habits.

    By spindles, I understand they were devices usually consisting of a long upright pin in a base on which papers can be stuck for filing —called also spindle file. I’m afraid I never used one of those in my time.

    Regards,

    Omar.-

  3. Seems like bad things happen to good people. My computer and wi-fi router died Saturday and I just got it back together today(Thursday). I’ve been through couple of Cisco routers at $80 a pop not counting tax, so this time I bought the least expensive one they had at Multimax, for $40, and guess what?!? The signal is actually STRONGER than the Cisco units…go figure.

    The most frustrating thing about the computer dying is the hassle of losing all the bookmarks and old passwords. I’m slowly getting the password thing worked out but it sure is a hassle having to change so many.

    The BIG news is that in place of the now three dead notebook computers I have I bit the bullet and shelled out the money and bought a Mac Airbook. No moving parts. The ‘hard drive’ is solid state. No moving parts and it’s unbelievably light. It has a 13″ screen which is only slightly smaller than what I’ve been working with, Of course it has a Spanish keyboard but a few mouse clicks and it has been converted to an English board, but you just have to know that the semi colon is hiding under the enyay key. There is definitely a learning curve, though. And while typing isn’t too bad from the old keyboard, hitting the tiny shift key to capitalize a letter will take some getting used to as well as the return key.

  4. Hi Richard:

    I’m so sorry for your mishap. I understand exactly how you must have felt when your laptop and router went sour. It’s a bitter pill to swallow, but we have to bite the dust and move on.

    Was it a power problem in Boquerón? That was the origin of my misfortune, even though I had a powerful UPS installed in my house.

    I’ve read about the Apple MacAir Book computer. It’s a jewel of a machine, and am sure you’re going to love it. It’s amazing how small and light it is. I think I read somewhere that it easily fits inside a manila envelope. Apple has good products.

    Yeah, getting all your information back is a pain in the neck to put it mildly, but do we have a choice?

    I’m glad I’m over the cliff and things are back to normal now. (Fingers crossed).

    May you enjoy your computing activities with your new router and laptop. It’s nice to have them working in today’s modern connected world.

    Best Regards,

    Omar.-

    1. I don’t know what it was that killed the computer. I went to start it Saturday afternoon and got a message that certain ‘files’ were missing. Then a ‘start recovery’ window came up. It said it could take up to an hour to repair things. After 12 hours the little dots were STILL moving from right to left and NOTHING had changed. I’d actually been thinking about getting another computer but was going to wait until Windows 10 appeared. Disaster changed that plan

      The router went probably through a power surge when a lightning bolt struck right outside my door. This thing IS going to take some time to master the learning curve though.

  5. That’s why I stick with Windows. I’m too old to learn new tricks with another operating system. Apple has a different approach than Microsoft, so you have to learn how they do it, and that requires time and dedication.

    I’m using Windows 7 which is very similar to Windows XP which was the OS installed on the damaged desktop. Nothing new to learn. I’m glad for that. Also most of my information is stored on the cloud, so I lost nothing due to the failure. All my pictures remained intact in a server at Photobucket. That was reassuring.

    As you know, Panama is well-known for being a land frequently struck with lightnings. Dangerous to walk outside during an electric storm.

    Bye,

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

