Replacing a Fried Computer System


If you are a regular follower of Lingua Franca, you probably know that during a recent power outage I lost my HP desktop computer and a Cisco router.  Serendipitously, I had a backup Sony Vaio laptop for an emergency like this one.  Most of my valuable information was securely stored on the Cloud, so the next day I was up and going.  However, there was a downside to the power interruption incident.  I’m a good typist on a normal keyboard—55 words per minute approximately—but a lousy typist in cramped keyboards like those included in laptops.  Writing anything was a pain in the neck to put it mildly.  Without a Wi-Fi network, all my wireless devices were grounded.  I had no choice but to buy a new keyboard and a brand new router.

There’s an excellent computer store here in Panama City, with a wide assortment of computer products and affordable prices similar or even cheaper than those of the States.  The store is Yoytec.  So that is where I went to replace my sizzling computing equipment.

Below are several pictures of the new keyboard from Logitec.  It’s slim, with Spanish characters and an elegant design.  Plus it works wirelessly, meaning less cables to worry about.  The keyboard came with a Logitec wireless mouse as a free bonus.  So all in all, it was a good deal.  Yesterday I installed it without a hitch.  I’m writing this post with it even as we speak.  Plan to install the router Monday morning.  It’s a bit more complex process, but I think I can do it following the manual’s instructions.

Snapshot of the box which housed the newly acquired wireless keyboard and mouse from Logitec. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Notice the Spanish characters like the Ñ and the tilde (´) which I use abundantly when I write in my native language. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
This is something that I was missing—the number keypad for keeping my budget under control. Typing numbers without this feature is very cumbersome and slow. My laptop miserably lacked this feature. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
I was surprised that both the keyboard and mouse had a nice touch of red, similar to the Sony Vaio laptop. Strangely enough, they seem to be part of an aesthetic computing combo. I like it. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

I paid $39.90 for both the wireless mouse and keyboard, which is within my cash-strapped budget.  The next step is to have my computing system up and running by installing a router.  That will have to wait till tomorrow.  Until then, Good Day.

4 thoughts on “Replacing a Fried Computer System”

  1. I just looked at my mouse and discovered it’s Logitech, too. Mine is wired. I thought I might go wireless when I need to replace it, but as long it is keeps working perfectly, no upgrade is needed!

  2. I’m with you Linda. If it ain’t broken, don’t fix it. We’re following the same policy with our 34-year-old refrigerator. It shows its wear and tear of the years, but it’s still purring, so we won’t replace until it says, “No más, no más”.

    It has served us well over the years. Hate to let it go when the time comes, but that is a fact of life. Nothing is eternal, except ones soul.

    Best Wishes,

    Omar.-

  3. I learned the lessons about not replacing until needed from my mother. She could become so frustrated with bath towels. She always bought good quality, and she used to fuss that they NEVER were going to wear out! So, when she repainted the bath, we used the old, non-matching towels, and she’d buy a couple of sets of new, matching towels to put out when company came. 🙂

  4. I can understand your mother’s policy. We try to follow those general guidelines. Just to give you an example: I’m sill wearing socks purchased thirty-four years ago when I was courting my wife. Most of them are in a pretty good shape. Our fridge is over that same time period and so on.

    We don’t believe in trends or latest fashions, but in the value of things; and of course, of people.

    Bye,

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

