Idioms


If you are a regular follower of Lingua Franca, you already know that I’m infatuated with the English language.  I’ve had my ups and downs with the language, but I keep hanging in there until one day it will sink in.  When will that be?  Who knows?

Anyway, one of my favorite sections of the language is the study of idioms or idiomatic expressions.  For those of you who are studying English as your second language, idioms are very difficult to understand because their meaning has nothing to do with the words.  The meaning of an idiom is associated with local customs or traditions that sometimes go back in time a long way, often to Great Britain or other European countries.

Idioms can be defined as an expression whose meanings cannot be inferred from the meanings of the words that make it up or the usage or vocabulary that is characteristic of a specific group of people.  Over the years I’ve collected a large list of idioms which have helped me tremendously in understanding English content.  Yesterday, while reading a blog post, I found a new idiom–-“out of their hair”.  The blogger wrote, “I have a feeling they were looking for a way to keep me busy and out of their hair.” 

I noticed the idiom immediately.  “out of their hair” had nothing to do with a person’s hair.  I researched the expression and found the following information about the new idiom:

1.  Get someone out of one’s hair:  to cause someone to stop annoying oneself. Example:  What do I have to do to get this guy out of my hair.

2.  Get out of someone’s hair:  to stop annoying someone. Example:  Will you get out of my hair! You are a real pain!

Omar is happy.  He has added a new idiom to his large collection of English idiomatic expressions.  Good Day.

14 thoughts on “Idioms”

  1. Omar,

    Just wanted to leave a note telling you how much I enjoy your blog.

    Congratulations on your excellent command of the english language.

    Roy

  2. The enjoyment we get from your blog posts is just a frog’s hair from amazing. After all the other stresses of the day causing us to tear our hair out, reading your allows us to let our hair down and relax. It is a much better tonic than the hair of the dog that bit us, and we never feel that we have to split hairs about what you write. With your wonderful commentary, there is never a hair out of place!
    (There, that should keep you busy for hours. HAHA)
    Con cariño,
    jim and nena

  3. Morning Jim and Nena:

    “Seek and thou shall find”. Here, we have found another golden nugget—a frog’s hair and then some. Will have to look it up and comment on it later. With all this hair floating around, we can easily make a wig. 🙂

    Thank for the challenge of figuiring what all this hair is all about.

    Best Wishes,

    Omar.-

  4. Hi Omar,

    I was just passing by and read the word idiom, I had to find out what it was all about. I love idioms I have learned a lot of these when I was in school.

    Nice meeting you.

    1. Hi Ranu802:

      Good for you. I love idioms and have a ball adding them to my large collection accumulatored over the years. Everyday I find new ones. Today I found six new ones which I will publish in future blog posts.

      Glad to meet you too, Ranu802.

      Best Wishes,

      Omar.-

  5. As an English language speaker, learning Español in my adopted home, I think that the road runs both ways. We’ve learned many idioms from our maestro de Español and we usually have one or two for him each lesson. I’m having trouble with my “por y para” so we’re doing a good review right now. “Te vendieron borrigero por iguana” is my latest! We’re in the campo so we get to hear all sorts of different idiomatic expressions. Great post Omar!

  6. Hi Indacampo:

    I hear you. We also have our fair share of Spanish idioms. For foreigners, hearing them for the first time might sound puzzling or even absurd. However, once you learn them, the locals with respect you for taking the time to learning the language and culture of the host country.

    Thank you for your comments,

    Best Wishes,

    Omar.-

  7. Oh, and here is one of the most famous uses of the idiom, from Rogers and Hammerstein’s wonderful musical, “South Pacific.” She’s going to “wash that man right out of her hair”!

  8. In Texas we use the term “fixing to”. It means about to do something such as, ,I am fixing to go to the store. Do you need anything?

Leave a Reply

