Indian Table


During a recent photography soujourn into the commercial territory of El Dorado, I visited an Indian store full of exotic products from this Asian country. Panama, because of its historical reliance on commerce, is above all a melting pot.  This is shown, for instance, by its considerable population of Afro-Antillean and Chinese origin.  There are also communities of Spanish, Italian, Greek, Indian,  Jews, Hindus and Muslims. Smaller religious groups include Jewish and Muslim communities with approximately 10,000 members each, and small groups of Hindus, Arabs, Buddhists and Rastafarians.

The Indian population is Panama is a prosperous and respected ethnic group.  Many of them are businessmen.  They own stores which sell imported Indian merchandise, engage in the sale of used cars and peddle other small-priced goods such as clothes, watches and perfume.  They are known for their hard work.

Below is a picture of an Indian table exhibiting several products from India.  The picture was taken from the parking lot through a glass window.  That explains the visible reflection of automobiles on the glass.  I wish I could travel to this fascinating country.  It has so much to offer to a curious traveler.

Photo by Omar Upegui R.
6 thoughts on “Indian Table”

  1. I’ve read and seen in pictures, movies and videos, so much about this country, that sometimes I feel I was a Indian in my previous life or lives. It’s such an exotic and spiritual place so much different from our Western values.

    Best Wishes,

    Omar.-

  2. I vaguely remember that the elephant is a representation of a Hindu god. I looked him up, and found that his name is Ganesh, or Ganesha. You can read a bit about him here. Quite interesting, really. Without your photo, I certainly wouldn’t have thought of him day.

    1. Yes Linda you are right. I wrote about Indian culture way back in February 2009 when I visited an Indian temple near our neighborhood.

      In case you haven’t read about it nor seen the pictures, please click here to find the blog post about “A Visit to a Hindu Temple in Panama.”

      There is so much information out there, that it’s impossible to keep track.

      Best Regards,

      Omar.-

      1. What a great post, and how great that you got such response to it. There’s a beautiful Sikh temple in west Houston. I’ve never visited, but I really should. If you go to this page, there’s a photo gallery that’s just fantastic. So much color, and so many happy people!

  3. I’m glad you enjoyed my post about a Hindu temple in Panama. I viewed the generous pictures of the Shri Radha Krishna Temple that you provided. The colors are gorgeous, and the people are really having fun the way it should be.

    Thank you for further researching the Hindu religion.

    Best Wishes,

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

