Hazy City Lights


If you are a regular reader of Lingua Franca, you are fully aware of my embarrassing  experience at the Cinta Costera last week.  I made the mistake of not adjusting my zoom lens to Auto Focus; thus all my pictures were blurry.  Anyway, I decided to publish them here to remind those of you who are learning the ropes of photography, that accidents and mistakes will happen, but that’s okay.  It’s part of the learning process; it comes with the territory.  That’s the way to learn; by making mistakes and learning from them.

Now I know.  Next time, the first thing I’m going to do is check if my Auto Focus button is On and my settings are suitable for the availability of light at the scene.  This doesn’t mean, that my pictures will be perfect, but at least they won’t be as bad as the ones you are about to view today, or the one you saw yesterday.  Without further ado, below are the rest of the blurry pictures I shot last Sunday.  Take a look.

Snapshot of the skyscrapers of Punta Paitilla in Panama City, Panama shot with a powerful zoom lens. Even though they were out of focus by accident, I was able to make them more or less palatable by using Adobe Photoshop Elements Seven. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
In this picture, please notice a ghost woman taking pictures of the lighted skyline with an Apple iPad. When I shot the picture, I didn’t noticed she was there. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
As you have already noticed, the ghost lady has disappeared. The lights are impressive in search for a better word to describe the scenery. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Please allow me to introduce Mr. Luis Carlos Vásquez from the city of Medellín, Colombia in South America who was visiting Panama City. His daughter paid him a trip to Panama and Spain as a special birthday present. He asked me if I could take his picture with the beautiful scenery of Panama City’s skyline on the background. I was more than happy to say “Yes”. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Mr. Luis Carlos Vásquez poses for the camera with a wide and friendly smile. Hope he has a marvelous trip in Madrid, Spain and a safe return to his home in Colombia. It was very nice meeting him at the Coastal Strip. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

Once more I apologize for the low quality of the pictures, but I wanted to share with you the mistakes that can happen while learning the secrets of the trade.  Caveat! Also remember that “Practice makes perfection.”  Good Day.

6 thoughts on “Hazy City Lights”

  1. No need to apologize, Omar. We all are learning from your experiences, and that’s good. Besides, I really like that second photo. I’ve seen photos where people have post-processed to try and get that effect. You just saved yourself some time with the editing programs! 🙂

  2. I love the ghost lady! haha
    Now, it is time to start photographing lightning storms. You use the same long exposure technique and the fotos are incredible. You do get lightning storms, right? 😉
    jim

  3. Morning Jim and Nena:

    Yeah, the ghost lady is kinda mysterious, isn’t she? Oh, yes Jim, we have them all the time. I read somewhere that Panama is on the top of the list of countries having more deaths due to lightning strikes. You’re pulling my leg, right? 🙂

    Bye,

    Omar.-

    1. Yep! haha I’m guessing that all those tall building should attract a lot of lightning. That would make some interesting fotos from a LONG distance away.
      jim

Leave a Reply

