Cuddling Up the Tripod


Several months ago (April 2014), I make the decision to buy a tripod to take pictures at night or at very low levels of light.  That has been one my graphic projects for a long time.  Panama City has a wonderful skyline which glows in the dark like a fairytale story.  This is what drives me crazy.  This is my dream.  This is what won’t let me sleep at night.  This is my burning desire.

After researching the subject on the Internet, I decided on the Ravelli 65″ carbon fiber 3 axis ballhead camera video photo tripod with a quick release plate and carrying bag, professional.  It turned out to be a bad decision.  The second time I tried to set it up to make sure it would hold my DSLR camera and its heavy lens, one of the legs fell off.  On April 28, 2014 I returned the defective tripod to Amazon and requested a refund.  The tripod had a one-year guarantee.  I was surprised to find out that the carrier, Aeropost, would take care of the refund, since all their packages are fully insured.  Sure enough, in less than one week I was paid in full, including the transportation charges from Miami to Panama.

I was back to square one researching for a replacement tripod.  Three month later and endless hours before a computer screen, I selected another tripod.  This time it was the Manfrotto 190X ProB 3 section aluminum Pro tripod with a Manfrotto 496 RC2 ballhead with quick release.  It arrived home safely and in perfect conditions shipped by Amazon.com.  I also purchased a bag to protect the tripod and the ballhead from scratches, unexpected bumps and normal wear and tear while traveling.

Tomorrow morning, my wife and I will travel to Amador’s Causeway to take pictures of the Gehry Museum, a.k.a. the The Biodiversity Museum: Panama Bridge of Life, and experiment with the new tripod during the Golden Hour of the morning. Fingers crossed.

Below are several pictures of the bag in charge of protecting the tripod and ballhead.  The bag carries the name of VidPro TC-27 padded tripod bag for 27-inch long tripods.  The main specifications of the bag are:

  • Heavy-duty, Cordura webbed nylon
  • Accommodates: Tripod with head, up to 27″ long
  • Shoulder strap and handles
  • Large zippered exterior pocket
  • Price:  $13.59
Snapshot of the Vidpro bag which includes a large exterior side pocket convenient to carry photographic accessories. The materials looked very strong and resistant to our Tropical hot and humid weather. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Snapshot of the tripod with head inside the bag. Everything fitted like a glove. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Snapshot of the closed bag with the tripod and the ballhead neatly tucked inside. We are ready to go. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

Tomorrow I plan to post pictures of the ballhead and the next day of the tripod itself.  For the time being, there will be a long wait until I save more money for new gear.  This hobby is getting pretty expensive for a retiree with a cash-strapped budget.  Good Day.

2 thoughts on “Cuddling Up the Tripod”

Leave a Reply

