Fridge Magnets


Many people use their refrigerator as the favorite water hole for the family’s communications system.  Under small magnets they leave the messages they want the family to acknowledge.  The fridge is like a very simple, no-nonsense, straight-to-the point communications center.

We don’t follow this pattern.  Instead, I prefer to use my computer to remind me of what I need to know, and it does it quite efficiently.  Appointments, To-Do-Lists, Birthdays and other important information is stored and retrieved in the computer with satisfactory results.  My main computer is our family’s waterhole.

Having said that, we do have fridge magnets, albeit with no messages.  There is a Chinese tea I drink to help me tame the reflux problems.  The name of the tea is “Super Strength Premium Dieter’s Tea” from Sun Valley, U.S.A. Each box includes a free fridge magnet, which my wife diligently places on the top door of our fridge.  We have an increasing collection of cute magnets decorating our refrigerator.  Take a look.

Snapshot of several colorful magnets decorating our loyal Whirlpool refrigerator. Notice there are no messages attached to them. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

4 thoughts on “Fridge Magnets”

  1. What a wonderful thing to do, Eagle-Eyed Editor. Why didn’t I think of that? Wish many more journeys ahead and more magnets to match the travels and to enhance your memories. Way to go!

  2. I’ve really culled my collection now – I have maybe a dozen. A few are from Mom’s refrigerator, and the others are from my travels, also. Museums now often offer magnets with reproductions of famous works in their collection. Can’t afford a Picasso? Buy a Picasso magnet!

    The other thing I like are businesses that have magnets. I keep one on the fridge with Dixie Rose’s vet’s phone number on it – just for emergencies.

  3. I liked your comment about magnets distributed by art museums. Having a Picasso magnet should be a great treasure. I have never seen those precious magnets. The only ones we have and keep are the ones in the picture.

    Oh, the Mexican hat was a gift from a friend who went to Mexico for a short visit and brought back this cute souvenir.

Leave a Reply

