Flashbacks of Star Wars


Last week my wife made a trip to Aguadulce to visit her relatives; one of them has cancer and requires close attention.  While she was gone I had to make my own breakfast.  Lunch and dinner were prepared beforehand and kept in the fridge to avoid spoiling.

For these circumstances we purchased a small percolator.  Only for five cups of coffee, which is more than enough, since my wife and I drink little coffee due to our reflux problems.

When I woke up early in the morning (5:30 a.m.) for breakfast, I opened the top of the percolator to pour in the water and the two tablespoonfuls of ground coffee, I was surprised to find a reminder of the Star War legendary films.  Take a look of what I saw.

Snapshot of the top of our small coffee percolator which has the shape of Darth Vader of the Star Wars films. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

 

8 thoughts on “Flashbacks of Star Wars”

  1. Now I see the connection, after doing an image search for Darth Vader. Dare I confess I’ve never seen one of the films? I guess I just did!

    By the way, there’s a town in Texas named Sweetwater.

  2. Sweetwater would be the equivalent of Aguadulce. What do you know? Small world, isn’t it.

    When I was a movie-goer, I saw all of the Star Wars pictures. They were lots of fun. Nowadays, I prefer to watch my movies at home via Netflix. For only $7.99 you can see quite a bunch of highly acclaimed pictures.

    For example, I recently enjoyed, “Saving Lincoln” directed by Salvador Alex Lituk and acted by Tom Amandes as Abraham Lincoln and Lea Coco as Ward Hill Lamond, Lincoln’s bodyguard and personal friend.

    Lituk is the guy who invented CineCollage film using vintage photographs from the Library of Congress. The photos were sharp like a tack in awesome black and white color depicting the brutality of the American Civil War. Actors were filmed in desaturated color. I understand about 600,000-700,000 people died during this unnecessary war.

    If you’re interested in learning more about this historic film, you can click the link http://savinglincoln.com

    Two facts stand out after watching the film. The determination of Abraham Lincoln to go ahead and introduce the Emancipation Proclamation and the passing of the 13th Amendment. Quite a guy in American History who has grown to become a myth larger than life as time went by.

  3. “But picking on Congress’ unpopularity is a bit like beating a dead tauntaun. After all, the legislative branch has been less popular than lice, brussels sprouts and Nickelback for some time now. What if we compared the favorability of 2016 presidential hopefuls and other political leaders with that of “Star Wars” characters?”

    “These numbers suggest that if “Star Wars” were real and Darth Vader decided to enter the 2016 presidential race, he’d be the immediate front-runner.”

    Can’t say I’m surprised. The same attitude is present here in Panama. Politician is considered a bad word, worse than Son of …(you know what I mean).

    1. The similarity with Darth Vader is amazing. I couldn’t believe my eyes. Regarding the film, “Saving Lincoln”, I positively know you will enjoy this extraordinary CineCollage film. It’s the most creative and innovative picture I’ve seen in years. The tack sharp black and white photographs from the U.S. Library of Congress used to produce the film were spectacular to say the least. If you love photography and history, which obviously you do, you will have a ball viewing this beautiful movie based on the life of Abraham Lincoln. Have a beautiful day, Trish.

      1. Hi Omar hope your weekend’s going well, I managed to watch Saving Lincoln and I was really impressed! It’s been given poor reviews but I found it refreshing, the script was to the point and matched the mood and most of all I loved the use and quality of light! You don’t see it in many modern movies nowadays. Thank you for the recommendation! 🙂

  4. Today just returned from a photo-shoot session to the former Panama Canal Zone. My interest was to shoot pictures of the Gehry Museum which will become an iconic tourist attraction for Panama. The day turned out to be dark and gray, but took the pictures anyway. With a little help from Adobe Photoshop Elements, maybe I can get something decent to share with you guys in this site.

    I’m glad you were able to see the film, “Saving Lincoln”. It’s head and shoulders above the ordinary movies on the theaters nowadays. The innovation of using black and white photographs as backgrounds for the characters was of great interest to me. It’s amazing that these pictures were shot in 1861-1865 when photography was in its infancy.

    Any news on your new wide-angle lens? Can’t wait to see your pictures using this lens, I mean the Tokina SD 11-16mm f/2.8 AT-X116 Pro DX II..

Leave a Reply

