Portraitures


Wikipedia Encyclopedia defines portraiture as the creation of any portrait; an artistic representation of a person, including portrait painting, portrait photography or self-portrait.

A portrait is a painting, photograph, sculpture, or other artistic representation of a person, in which the face and its expression is predominant. The intent is to display the likeness, personality, and even the mood of the person. For this reason, in photography a portrait is generally not a snapshot, but a composed image of a person in a still position. A portrait often shows a person looking directly at the painter or photographer, in order to most successfully engage the subject with the viewer.

For several years I’ve tried to learn the techniques of taking portraits the best I can.  I found it to be more difficult than it seemed.  Anyway, I keep on trying.  As the saying goes, “where there’s a will, there’s a way”.

My first guinea pigs were the Twisters.  I started my learning curve with them.  If you have followed my blog, you know what I’m talking about.

Recently, we had a visit from a dear friend from Maine who returned to Panama for a one-month vacation.  She stayed with us for a week.  During that brief time, I couldn’t resist the temptation of practicing my portraiture’s skills with her.  Generously, she cooperated in posing for me.  Some of her pictures, I’ve already posted.  Today’s I’m including the last ones, since my friend is returning to the States next Tuesday, so time for picture-taking has expired.

I’m aware that these pictures are not perfect; in fact they are quite “amateurish“, but they served the purpose of helping me learn the skills of the trade.  If I could find more subject to pose for me, it would be easier, but people here are apprehensive in going to another person’s house to pose for a picture.  Too many ill-intentioned people here have used the scheme to mug or rape women saying they are professional photographers, when in reality they are common thieves with a camera on their hands.

But that’s a story for another day.  Below you will find the last pictures of the portraiture series.  It was lots of fun while it lasted.  Here we go.

Portrait of my dear friend flirting with the camera. The bright red anthurium adds a nice splash of color to the portrait. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
The dark spot on the subject’s left eye is a birth mark. In my opinion she looks very nice with this unusual face distinction. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

2 thoughts on “Portraitures”

Leave a Reply

