An Umbrella


I always thought an umbrella was a pretty simple object useful when it rained or when the sun was extra hot.  Never paid much attention to it, and never used it myself.  My wife, on the other hand, is always on the alert of the weather and is cautious to carry an umbrella at the faintest sign of rain or bright sun.

Recently, I noticed her umbrella perched outside our front porch drying up after a heavy rainfall.  I took a close look at the convenient subject and became aware that it was a little more complicated than I initially conceived.  Then I decided to take pictures of the object.  This is what I saw.  Here we go.

Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
8 thoughts on “An Umbrella”

  1. Here in Panama at this time of year an umbrella is nearly essential if you’re going to be out and about in the afternoons. I have a small, collapsible one that I keep in my knapsack at all times. It is also a common sight, here, to see women with an umbrella to ward off the sun. But in Spanish, as with English, there is the single word, “umbrella.”

    The French, on the other hand, difficult people that they are believing that everything they do is based on “logic,” have TWO words and, in fact, two devices. There is the “parapluie” which is, literally, “for rain,” and the “parasol” which “for sun.” I guess in this instance they ARE being logical.

  2. The French might be logical but not pragmatic. Using a single item to protect you from rain and from the sun, makes more practical sense than buying two items.

    It’s also cheaper and hits your pocket less. Pensionados on a tight budget are always looking for ways to save the scarce kopecks.

  3. I bought the little collapsible umbrella after leaving two big ones at bus stops. I figured I’d contributed enough of them to people I didn’t know.

  4. I recall having one of those mini umbrellas in Costa Rica where just about everybody carries an umbrella. I lost it here in Panama when I returned home. Never bought another one. An old newspaper is good enough for me. 🙂

  5. Hahaha newspaper vs brollies, now that’s not something you ever see here in the UK 😀 Rain is an every-day thing, carrying an umbrella is like carrying your wallet 🙂 Love the pink hue!

  6. Trish,

    I’ve noticed that in British movies. Everybody carries an umbrella, even when it is not raining. I’m okay with my old newspapers. They’re a lot cheaper than brollies, I might add.

    Regards,

    Omar.-

  7. You know why they carry umbrellas in old British movies, don’t you? All of the spies and such use them to carry poison, and all the gentlemen carry their libations in them. 😉

Leave a Reply

