Cooking With Class and Style

We seldom we go out to eat at restaurants.  My wife and I have reflux problems and the sauces which are served at most restaurants are not good for our stomachs.  They contain to much acids.

Instead, my wife prepare our meals taking great care in minimizing the amount of salt and balancing the concentration of acids.  She is an extraordinary cook.  Her cooking skills were inherited by her mother, Tomasa Achurra, who was widely known at Quebrada de Hato, as being the best cook in the area.  To aid her cash-strapped household economy, she sold food outside dancing saloons.  Her table was wiped out clean after a few hours.  Dancing makes people hungry.

Below is how my wife prepares some of our meals.  I have the privilege of having my own private chef with the best food Panama City can offer.  Sorry restaurants, but we just don’t need your services.

Snapshot of some of the ingredients used by my wife Aura to prepare her delicious meals: carrots, potatoes, garlic, onions, culantro leaves and celery. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

Now you understand why we don’t go out and eat at restaurants.  We have our own private eating place, second to none in style and class.  Make it a good day.

4 thoughts on “Cooking With Class and Style”

  1. Quite apart from the tastiness, the color and form of the veggies are so appealing. And you’re right about eating at home – one reason there are certain things I never order in a restaurant is that I know I can do better.

    Of course, there’s the other side, too. There are things I order in a restaurant because I can’t cook them so well – especially the Texas specialty, the chicken-fried steak. Strangely, those are exactly the foods I shouldn’t be eating very often, so it all works out.😉

  2. I have another reason for eating at home, I can’t get good Panamanian food at the restaurants in Fort Worth! haha

    And with my sister and brother-in-laws living here now, I have added 2 more good cooks to my options. The 3 of them sometimes make and sell orders of empanadas and tamales to friends of ours, usually for a party someone is having. I often get involved in that process as far as helping to grind the corn for the masa. A good workout for which I am paid in empanadas, Mmmm.

  3. Morning Jim and Nena:

    We’re not very good with empanadas, mind you; but as far as tamales is concerned, that’s the specialty of the house. De-li-cious!

    Yep, we’ve got good food south of the Río Grande.



Leave a Reply

