Dangerous Kindle Update


Credit: Techcrunch.com

I just found out that Amazon has launched a flawed update to its Kindle iOS for Apple’s iPhone, iPad and iPod Touch.  I’m referring specifically to version 3.6.1. According to an article dubbed, “Bug In Kindle Update For iOS Deletes Users’ Entire Library, Amazon Warns Users Not To Update”, penned by Jordan Crook, the new version is causing lots of damage.  There are reports that some users were horrified when their Amazon digital libraries and saved settings vanished before their very eyes.

Amazon Inc.  has responded with the following advice:

“We have identified an issue with the app update that may cause your app to become deregistered. To register, enter your Amazon account e-mail address and password and all your Amazon content will be available in the cloud. We have submitted an update fix for this issue and are working with Apple to release.”

Amazon has acknowledged the bug right on its own iTunes page, saying “There is a known issue with this update. If you are an existing Kindle for iOS user, we recommend you do not install this update at this time.”

If I were you, I would work with my current version until the dust settles down and the bugs have been crushed from version 3.6.1.  I’m a consummate user of Kindle and would hate to lose my books’ library and saved setting.  I will be on the lookout for more recent news on this thorny issue with Amazon.  Please play it safe.  Good Day.

Edit:  At 4:01 p.m. (-5 GMT), February 28, 2013,  I was able to download version 1.1.2 of Apple’s iOS for my Apple iPad gadget.  It was a flawless and swift process.  Shortly afterwards, I upgraded Amazon’s Kindle app, version 3.6.2, for my Apple iPad and the results were as expected.  I hereby confirm the app is working well and nothing happened to my digital libraries or my saved settings.  The problem has been happily resolved.  Nothing else to report.

2 thoughts on “Dangerous Kindle Update”

  1. No kindle in my life, but I did pass on the info on Twitter with a link to your entry here. As you’ve noted so often, there are a million ways or more that we can run into trouble with these gadgets and programs.

  2. Morning Linda:

    It is very uncomfortable fo rme to be always on the lookout for malicious software trying to bring me down. I’ve been using computers since 1983, and over the years, I’ve seen how an innocent information conduit has evolved into a dangerous mine field.

    Even though I have a very powerful Internet anti virus, I know that I’m still vulnerable everytime I fireup my computer in the early morning to do my blogging work. I’m afraid it will get worse, instead of gettig any better. Hacking is now an open cyber war out there.

    Bye,

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

