Below is part of my collection of polychromatic ties which are pleasing to the eyes and to my memories of an exciting period of my professional life.  I’m patiently waiting for Abdiel, the oldest of the Twisters, to grow up and donate them to him.  I’m afraid it will be a long waiting period.

Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Snapshot of one of my Texaco ties. I worked for this company for over twelve years. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.
Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

4 thoughts on “Ties”

  1. While looking for my revolver in a drawer containing things I don’t use, I came across my last assortment of neckties and many of those were the “clip-on” variety. If you wore one of those it meant a perfect knot everytime.

    I have not worn a suit in ages. And I would not wear a necktie even to a funeral. So what I have left are clothes that no longer fit my fat-belly frame and neckties that went out of fashion, for me, ages ago.

    But it was a treat to get to see what other people used to hang around their necks.

    Our old department in Research and Development, at the National Cash Register Company, had a white shirt and tie clothing policy but that was changed to allow people to wear short-sleeves in the hot and humid months and the new policy worked so well the company never returned to suit and tie unless we were expected some high up official to visit.

  2. Hi Abe:

    In Texaco, it was required to wear the Texaco necktie and a dark suit. Wearing ties and suits in a hot and humid weather like the one we have in Panama was very uncomfortable. But those were the rules to work for this company.

    I agree with you. I will never wear a tie and suit anymore. Those days are over for me.

    Take Care,


  3. I think most men feel about ties the way I feel about high heels. I’ve a couple of pair I keep for very particular occasions, but for the most part? No mas!

    After my dad died, my mother made a vest from his ties – a kind of patchwork thing. She never got it finished – I think I may frame the back portion and hang it as artwork – and a nice memory!

Leave a Reply

