How to Remove Region Blocks and Enjoy the Web With Hola Unblocker

Credit: Mozilla Organization

For a long times I had problem watching news clips, videos, TV episodes, movies, and other Internet content because they were restricted to Panama due to royalty issues.  For example, I have a Netflix subscription to stream movies and documentaries in English with Spanish subtitles which is good, I’m not complaining.  However, the U.S. version has a wider variety of movies and documentaries and its database includes newer movies.  The problem was, I was blocked from this richer content.  The same was true with Pandora, Hulu and other sites.

Yesterday, in a serendipitous event, I found out there was a way to unblock the restrictions and access these elusive web sites using a Firefox or Chrome extension.  Hola Unblocker Web Proxy version 1.0.113 is a browser extension that removes region locks and allows you to watch BBC iPlayer, Netflix, Hulu, Pandora, and more regardless of where you live. It doesn’t require any set up and works right out of the box.

The Hola Unblocker guys have found a few ways to circumvent region-locking, including, changing your DNS server, VPN, and easy to use services like Tunnelbear. Hola Unblocker makes the whole process even easier. Just install the extension, and Hola Unblocker does the rest. You don’t need to reboot or change any setting in your browser. Currently, Hola supports Hulu, Netflix, Pandora, BBC iPlayer, iTV Player, CBS, and Fox.

If you enjoy websites like Pandora, ABC, CBS, NBC, Hulu, Netflix, just to name a few, but find it impossible to do so, no problem, the U.S. Cavalry is on the way.  I’m now enjoying a series dubbed, “Commander in Chief” starring Geena Davis as president Mackenzie Allen, the first female president in U.S. history, available in HD through Netflix.  Using Hulu, I also found another interesting show called, “Shark Tank”, about entrepreneurs seeking growth capital from shrewd investors.  The show is absolutely fascinating plus you learn a lot about investing in small but growing enterprises.

Pandora worked flawlessly as well, although I did notice miniscules interruptions, even though I have a generous Internet bandwidth of 7 Mbps from Cable Onda.  This doesn’t worry me, since I have other American Internet radio stations with similar musical contents.  However, it’s good news to open up new territory that was once banned in this part of the world.

If you miss your favorite TV programs from the United States and are currently living abroad, I fully recommend this Firefox/Chrome add on.  After using it, you will wonder how you ever lived so many years without it.  Good Day.

Source:  Hola!—Access blocked content from any country in the world.

12 thoughts on “How to Remove Region Blocks and Enjoy the Web With Hola Unblocker”

  1. Good news for all who face similar problems, Omar. I never subscribed to Hulu since I get a lot of shows on our Times Warner connection that runs our telephones and the Internet and our computers.

  2. Hi Abe:

    Good for you. We don’t have Times Warner in Panama. Most of my friends subscribe to a paid cable company, but I find that there are other free aveues out there that are just as good. I’m able to watch CNN News, ABC, CBS, NBC C-Span, Bloomberg TV, CNBC and many others for free. I’m one of those who cut the cable a long time ago.

    The option to watch Netflix with the U.S. database of movies/videos is awesome. I’m sure many Americans living abroad could take advantage of this simple add-on and feel at home.

    Take Care,


  3. I have a lot of high definition stations on my portion of the package and to get them I have to pay a monthly fee to Time Warner to use their box. I have seen this box from Apple, that is supposed to allow you to watch all the stations or a lot of stations (maybe better choice of words).

    I don’t know much about it and am, honestly, not sure of myself enough to get it and install it. I am afraid I would screw something up. Patty, had to go to Radio Shack and buy a new router and paid about $90.00 for it. She brought it home and installed it and now we have it to use to get on the Internet with. That got rid of a whole box of D-link routers, wireless and otherwise, that we have used over the years. And she just helped me with the ceiling fan here in my office. She got the stepladder and held onto my legs while I climbed up two steps to see if the fan was tight and it was. So she carted the stepladder back out to the garage.

    As you know, I like Word Press and like it but still work with Blogger. And then I am on Facebook at least once each day.

  4. Hi Abe:

    It feel so good to see that your health has improved so much that you are doing many of the things you used to do before you got sick.

    I wonder where you get your energy from and all that positive attitude to keep moving forward.

    I’ve been reading about Apple TV and it seems to be a good gadget to transfer content from your computer to your living room TV. That’s a project I’m considering right now. We don’t have a modern TV set, but if Apple TV is viable, we might cough some money to get one. A full HD TV set is a lot better than my LG LCD computer screen.

    Warm Regards,


  5. Now, this is a tip that might be useful. I’ll have to experiment. There have been a number of programs broadcast by the BBC that aren’t available in the states. If this works, I will be very happy.😉

    It’s tucked away in my files for the next time I come up against a roadblock!

  6. Hi Linda:

    I’ve been using this extension, both on my desktop and laptop computers, and the results are beyond expectations. Now I can watch the same movies a person sitting in the living room in Maine or Arkansas.

    Couldn’t do that in the past. Netflix had a different database for Latin America. Plus, I can watch the same episodes from NBC, ABC, or CBS as someone living in the U.S.

    This has been a great discovery for me and it’s absolutely free.



  7. Omar,
    I have a different issue. I signed up for Netflix while living in Colombia in order to practise my Spanish. I’m now back in South Africa, and have to use Hola to access Netflix, but suddenly the option of watching Lost in Spanish has disappeared! Do you know if there’s a way of using Hola or something similar to watch South American content on Netflix?


    1. Hello Jo:

      Since you are living in South Africa, I don’t know how you can watch Netflix with Latin American content. Since my IP is registered in Panama, I can watch the Latin American version by removing Hola Unblocker. When I want to watch Netflix with North American content, I go back and enable Hola Unblocker. Pretty neat and easy to do.

      Sorry for not being able to help you out. Maybe you could drop an e-mail to Netflix and see if they can offer a solution to your needs.



      1. Thanks Omar. Actually found – you can choose Netflix for different countries like Mexico. Works well and I’ve just finished watching a Spanish episode of Lost. Unfortunately it’s not free…

  8. Hi Jo:

    I can see that Unblock-Us had a price of $4.99 per month, almost as high as Netflix. If the budget is right and it solves your needs, then you have a deal.

    Enjoy your “Lost” episode in Spanish.

    Best of luck,


  9. Thanks for the article Omar .Why using a VPN when you can use a DNS service like UnoTelly? The DNS option is much faster and easier to use.

    1. I’m not a technical guy, so don’t know what you mean by VPN or DNS. In fact I’m pragmatic oriented, meaning I want something simple and that works without much hassle and complexity. Hola works just fine and I can view USA movies with my Netflix subscription in Panama, Central America. Easy as pie.

Leave a Reply

