A Visit to an Eye Doctor (Ophthalmologist)

Credit: WebMD.com

Yesterday, January 11, 2013, at 3:30 p.m. sharp, I went to see my ophthalmologist, Dr. Rafael Yee at the Clínca Yee, for my yearly visual checkup.  Normally I do this every year, just to make sure my headlamps are okay.  I read a lot and spend a considerable amount of time before a bright computer screen on a daily basis, and occasionally my eyes get irritated and/or fatigued.  I also have a glaucoma history in the family and I want to play it safe ensuring that I’m not affected by this disease.

Lately my eyes are red, a little teary on the corners, and very tired when I sit before my computer.  Before it got any worse, I decided to pay an early visit to Dr. Yee.  After a careful examination, he diagnosed that the redness of the eyes and a feeling of irritation and fatigue were caused by dry eyes and by circulatory origins.

To relieve the aforementioned symptoms, he prescribed the following medication:

  • Lagricel Ofteno:  Hyaluronic Acid sodium (a derivative of Hyaluronic Acid) is an eye lubricant for the temporary relief of burning, foreign body sensation, itching or dryness causing mild eye irritation by a wide range of agents such as sunlight, dust, air, chlorinated water, weak chemical agents, and exposure to bright light.
  • Vatarel MR:  This is a Prophylactic adjuvant treatment of the decline in visual acuity and visual field disturbances presumably of vascular origin.  It is considered by most oculists as an auxiliary treatment of visual disorders of a circulatory origin.

Dr. Yee said that the lamps were working well and the irritation and fatigues of both eyes would be gone in a few days.  Besides the mentioned prescription medicines, there was nothing to worry about.  He said jokingly, I could write my blog until I fell asleep.  Those words were music to my ears as you probably imagined.

How much did I have to cough out for this visit?  Here it is so you can compare these costs to your country and city.

  • Medical Fees:  $40.00 (this includes a 20 percent retiree discount)
  • Cost of Lagricel Ofteno:  $11.15 (price includes a 20 percent retiree discount)
  • Cost of Vastarel MR:  $15.12 (price includes a 20 percent retiree discount)
  • Total Cost:  $66.27

Oh one more thing, before I forget.  While I was waiting for my turn to see the doctor, I sat next to a young woman with her daughter who I guess was about three years old.  The little girl was very concentrated in some kind of gadget and occasionally gestured and shouted enthusiastically.  Her mother guided and played patiently with her.  Tempted by curiosity, I looked closer and discovered that mother and daughter were playing with a brightly lit Apple iPad Mini.  They were taking pictures of each other with the embedded camera, and editing the images into all kinds of funny faces and weird bright colors.  (Omar smiled complacently.)  The Apple Mini has finally reached our market and is already making people happy.

The positive visit to the eye doctor and the experience of watching an Apple iPad Mini in action made my day.  Year 2013 so far, has had a good beginning.  Good Day.

6 thoughts on “A Visit to an Eye Doctor (Ophthalmologist)”

  1. Good to hear your eyes are functioning well. My eye doctor spotted the beginnings of cataracts and glaucoma three years ago, but all is well. The magic eye drops are going their thing, and I haven’t even needed a prescription change for my glasses.

    On another topic entirely, I’m sure you’ve seen the notices from Oracle and elsewhere to disable Java until the serious security issues get patched. If not, a quick google of news sources for Java Oracle security will get you up to speed. At minimum, the whole kerfluffle has helped me understand the difference between Java and Javascript.😉

  2. Hi Linda:

    Glaums is something to be taken very seriously. Am glad you have it under control. My brother is now completely blind due to a severe case of glaucoma.

    To be candid with you Linda, I don’t have the vaguest idea as to what is the difference between Java and Javascript. I know they are both used by programmers to do their thing.

    Will take a look to understand what all the fuss is all about and if it affects my blogging activities.

    Now we are both learning subjects outside of our area of expertise. I love it! Thank you.

    Warm Regards,


  3. Estimado Omar:

    ¡Bienvenido al club de amigos de Vastarel MR! La tomo hace muchos años para la microcirculación cerebral y es excelente. A propósito, acabo de desayunar y ya debo tomarla. Junto con el cumplimiento estricto de otras recomendaciones médicas, me ayuda evitar el vértigo.

    Que tengan un buen día,


  4. Hola Hilda:

    A mis 66 años tengo que reforzar la maquinaria si quiero seguir leyendo y escribiendo mi blog diariamente. Ayer empecé el nuevo tratamiento. Entiendo que es muy efectivo.



  5. Amazing blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many choices out there that I’m completely confused .. Any recommendations? Appreciate it!

    1. Hi There:

      I’m afraid I can’t help you with writers’ tips, since I’m not a writer myself. In fact I’m a “number man” who happens to blog and take pictures. As far as WordPress in concerned, I think it’s the best blogging platform available at this moment. I’ve been using it for the last five years now without a hitch. By choosing it, I can assure you it’s a good bet.

      Good Luck,


Leave a Reply

