The Dream Machine

Photograph of Apple’s iMac desktop computer which recently was upgraded to keep it fresh and attractive to its loyal zealots. Credit: Apple Inc.

In 1983, many years ago, a lifetime ago, I purchased my first personal computer.  It was an Apple II-e.  That was the year I started dipping my toes into computers and software.  Since then, a lot of water has flowed under the bridge.

After squeezing its juice for several years, I sold it to a friend of mine who wanted to teach computing to her young children.  It also served them well, until finally the poor darling, went the way of the Dodo into the dustbin of history.

After my separation from my Apple personal computer, I switched to Windows and have used this operating system until last year when I purchased another Apple device—an Apple iPad.  It wasn’t that I really needed it to do my stuff.  In fact, I bought it out of peer pressure and curiosity.  Everywhere I read, the juggernaut was there and people had smiling faces with the device in their hands.  I said to myself, “Omar, you have to join the group; you can’t miss all this fun”  And I did.

To make a long story short, I’m very satisfied with my iPad (third generation with Retina Display).  I’m so happy with it, that I am seriously considering replacing my present Hewlett Packard desktop computer with an Apple iMac when it goes sour in the near future.

My HP desktop, running Windows XP, has accomplished an extraordinary work and I’m very happy with it.  The thing is that the machine is seven years old, and counting.  It was delivered on March 19, 2005.  At any time, it will say “No más, no más”, and that will be the end of its life.  It that happens, I can always depend on a Sony Vaio laptop and my Apple iPad, but they won’t do the trick for my blogging needs.  I feel I need another desktop, and that dream machine at this moment is an Apple iMac.

Apple’s iMac main specifications are:

  • Hard Disk Drive:  One terabyte (5400-rpm)
  • Graphics:  NVIDIA GeForce, GT 640M graphics processor with 512MB of GDDR5 memory
  • Processor:  2.7GHz, 2.7GHz quad-core Intel Core i5 processor (Turbo Boost up to 3.2GHz) with 6MB L3 cache
  • Memory:  8GB (two 4GB) of 1600MHz DDR3 memory (Configurable to 16GB)
  • Display: 21.5-inch (diagonal) LED-backlit display with IPS technology; 1920-by-1080 resolution with support for millions of colors
  • Video Support and Camera:  FaceTime HD camera.  Simultaneously supports full native resolution on the built-in display and up to a 30-inch display (2560 by 1600 pixels) on an external display.  Support for extended desktop and video mirroring modes. Support for Target Display Mode via the Thunderbolt port using a Thunderbolt to Thunderbolt cable (sold separately)
  • Size and Weight:  Height: 17.7 inches (45.0 cm), Width: 20.8 inches (52.8 cm), Stand depth: 6.9 inches (17.5 cm), Weight: 12.5 pounds (5.68 kg)3
  • In the Box:  iMac, Apple Wireless Keyboard, Apple Magic Mouse, Power cord
  • Price:  $1,299.00

This machine is not yet in Panama, but I’ll assure you it will soon be.  At the moment I don’t have the money, but I already have a specific savings account specially allocate funds for this purchase planned for December 2013.  The next step is to get myself an Apple iPhone, but that another story for another time.  For the time being, my Chinese cellphone is working just fine.  As a matter of fact, it looks very much like an iPhone; I mean, the first model that reached the market several years ago.  If you have followed my blog posts, you already know how it looks like and how much I paid for it.

That’s it folks.  After three decades, I’ve returned to my computing roots and embraced the Apple ecosystem again.  It has been a happy reunion.  And now you know the machine of my dreams.  I’m counting the days.  Good Day.

Source:  Apple Store Online – iMac’s Technical Specifications

2 thoughts on “The Dream Machine”

  1. Morning Omar,
    I have never owned Apples but did use the Mac for desktop publishing in our office for several years. I just finished watching a Steve Jobs “Lost Interview” on Netflix which was fascinating. I don’t know if the magic will work but I will try to link a photo to my grand daughters on their tablets, I don’t know if they are iPads or not but Jobs is no doubt the reason for the tablets existence.

  2. Morning Jim & Nena:

    It’s curious that initially Steve Jobs saw nothing in the future of tablets. He said nobody would use them. Then he saw “it” and came out with the iPad in 2010, and the rest is history.

    In my opinion, we are entering into a PC Plus era with PCs morphing into tablet computers. I am enjoying my iPad more than I originally expected. It’s a darned good machine.

    Take Care,


Leave a Reply

