Today Lingua Franca is Five Years Old


On January 1, 2013, Lingua Franca is five years old. Happy Birthday! Credit: Google Images.

Today is January 1, 2013.  For the Western World, this day is known as a New Year when millions and millions of persons make special plans for the future.  These future goals are called New Year’s Resolutions. Some of these resolutions will be remembered for only a few days and then swept away under the rug until the next year.  The goal most people write down is weight reduction.  Diets are popular New Years Resolutions.  Fat bellies are a no-no.

Last year my New Year’s resolutions were:  (BTW, all of them were accomplished within the year.)

  • Purchase a DSLR Canon EOS Digital Rebel T2i  18MP by December 2012.
  • Continue to polish up my English communication skills.
  • Study formal photography through digital books downloaded through PC Kindle.

This year my resolutions are:

  • Augment my English communication skills, specially in writing.
  • Take a formal photography course from a professional photographer in Panama.
  • Travel to the countryside to take photographs and document our country’s lifestyles and traditions.

All of the above are essential if I want to keep enhancing Lingua Franca.  Today I started making cosmetic changes to the web site, like inserting a new heading image.  I selected an elegant French palace in black and white to symbolize quality and photography.  These will be my new themes for the year.  My pictures should improve over the year after I take the photography course.  Black and white pictures are of great interest to me.  If Vivian Mair could make it big, at least I should  give it a try.

Today we are celebrating our fifth year writing almost daily posts in Lingua Franca. The same consistency is expected for year 2013.  If health and computers cooperate, there will be at least one post per day.  Most of these posts will include  images related to the topics discussed.  For the time being, the pictures are not really professional photographs per se; I would say they are snapshots.  However down the road, I intend to start posting real photographs based on formal photographic technical rules.  This is not an easy job.  It’s more easily said than done.  But you already know the famous quote of Lao-tzu, “A  thousand miles journey starts with a single step.”

Happy Birthday Lingua Franca! I wish you the best in 2013.  Let’s reach out to those far away places away from home, and touch millions of readers in every corner of the globe.  Good Day and Happy New Year as well.

2 thoughts on “Today Lingua Franca is Five Years Old”

  1. Happy Birthday! Five years is a great accomplishment, and I’ve certainly enjoyed the time I’ve spent following you. I noticed the new header photo and wondered why. Now I know, and I also have a feeling that degree of intentionality will mean you’ll accomplish this year’s goals, too!

    Happy New Year, too!

  2. Howdy Linda:

    Thank you, Linda. I knew you would catch the new header image. That was my tip for more polished photographs in 2013, many of them in black and white. I can’t get enough of that kind of images. Ansel Adams, Vivian Maier and a whole lot more are always in the back of my mind.

    When I set up a goal, about 90 percent of the time I keep it. I can’t help being a stubborn person, just like a stubborn mule. 🙂

    I have also enjoyed following your blog posts; they keep my English juices flowing, if you know what I mean. You are my most generous commentator. I appreciate your taking time off to read my blog.

    Enjoy the rest of the day,

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

