The Pursuit of Happiness

John Winston Lennon (1940-1980) Credit: Photographer Ian Macmillan/©Yoko Ono

Yesterday afternoon, while my wife had gone to a nearby mall to buy some shoes, I stayed home and had some fun flying like a butterfly from flower to flower on the Internet.  I love to surf the Web—the unexpected is always the most expected.

I found a warm and tender blog dubbed, Bohemian Sentiments authored by a blogger from the Philippines under the name of Lady From Manila.  On one of her blog posts she included a quotation from John Lennon that captured my attention.  It interested me so much, I decided I just had to share it with you today.

This is what John Lennon said about the construct of happiness:

“When I was five years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life.  When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up.  I wrote down ‘happy’.  They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.”

The pursuit of happiness is a powerful motive to live.  It was considered so essential to the existence of the human being, that the Founding Fathers decided to include these words in the Constitution of the United States.  “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty, and the pursuit of Happiness.”

John Winston Lennon, who was this man?  John Lennon was an English musician and singer-songwriter who rose to worldwide fame as a founder member of the Beatles, one of the most commercially successful and critically acclaimed acts in the history of popular music.  Together with Paul McCarthy, he formed one of the most celebrated songwriting partnerships of the 20th century.

At around 10:50 p.m. on December 8, 1980, as Lennon and his wife Joko Ono returned to their New York apartment, Mark David Chapman shot him in the back four times at the entrance to the building.  Lennon was taken to the emergency room of the nearby Roosevelt Hospital and was pronounced dead on arrival at 11:07 p.m.  At that very moment in time, the world went dark.  A bright star in the sky ceased to twinkle.

Be happy, that’s what’s it all about.  Good Day. 🙂

6 thoughts on “The Pursuit of Happiness”

  1. The only mistake people make is thinking “happiness” can be pursued for its own sake. I’m a happy person – but didn’t become so until I stopped trying to achieve happiness. Even that wasn’t a “decision” as much as a process.

    What the Declaration says was written at a time when people more clearly understood that being left free to pursue their lives would bring happiness as a secondary result. Today, we have a generation of young people who keep saying, “I deserve to be happy”. The entitlement mindset is everywhere!😉

  2. Morning Linda:

    I think that the Founding Fathers had the correct perspective when they said we have fundamental rights which can’t be negated to any human being no matter what; (e.g., Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness).

    We all agree on the first two, they’re quite obvious. By the pursuit of happiness, I feel think that we have the right to seek a path in life that will eventually lead to happiness. It’s up to us if we are willing to dedicate time and effort to obtain it. The key word here is “pursuit”.

    Have a great day,


  3. Dear Omar,

    I feel so honored that my blog and I have been a part of your wonderful post about John Lennon and this thing called happiness. I’ve liked the man as the leader of the Beatles although I could never quite discern what he saw in Yoko Ono.🙂
    My belief that happiness is a state of mind remains strong but is also currently testing me during these trying times.
    Have you read the article that just came out where your country Panama is among the Top 5 happiest nations in the world? The Philippines ranked #8. I am not surprised because wealth isn’t such a huge factor in the pursuit of happiness.
    I’ve been away from the computer for days because of pressing matters but as soon as I get back to it, your blog is one of the few I immediately open and read.

    Thank you, dear blogger. I wish you all the happiness in this world.


  4. Hi Marj:

    John Lennon and the rest of the Beatles were my favorite artists when I was busy growing up. The song “Imagine” is absolutely awesome. It’s unfortunate that he died so soon. There was so much this man could have done to make our world a happier one.

    Panama is doing fine. Our GDP grew 10.6 percent in 2012 and unemployment rate dwindled to only 4 percent; meaning it is almost nonexistent. I love this country and its people. I hope you could come and visit us. In many ways it’s very similar to your own country.

    I hope soon all your dark clouds are gone and you will soon be sailing under clear blue skies.

    I’m anxious to hear more from you and your blog. Keep on writing Marj, you have a gift with words.

    Warm Regards,


    1. I agree. John Lennon could have done more had his life not been cut short by that looney. I admit to not being a fan of the song “Imagine,” but for several days after his death – in my pre-adolescent stage, I mysteriously got depressed.
      What I actually meant above was that Happiness is a matter of choice. I’ve always wanted so much to believe in that. In many instances, I found it to be true. But perhaps, there’ll be times when one has to let some sorrow enter his or her heart – for that is the way of life.

      Best Regards to you too, Omar.

  5. Howdy Marj:

    On July 7, 2012, I penned a blog post about variations in life; some good and some not so good. I quoted the Holy Bible which hit the nail right on the head about “A Time for Everything Under the Heaven.”

    I strongly believe the Good Book is right. Life is a combination of peaks and valleys; our attitude determines how these ups and downs will affect us.

    I take this opportunity to wish you and your loved ones a Merry Christmas and a Prosperous New Year.

    Warm Regards,


Leave a Reply

