1 Cent Sale

Snapshot of an ad placed on a window of a store at El Dorado Mall. I liked the originality of the design. Photo by ©Omar Upegui R.

The English translation of this sign is, “Everybody happy.  Return of the 1CentSale.  When you buy one item at the regular price you take home a second item with the same or lower price for only 1 cent.”  The two cents resembling the eyes and the creativity of the title of the sign caught my attention.

I love to explore street and stores’ signs when I go out hunting for new pictures for my blog.  People are so creative.  It’s pretty cool.  I love it!  Good Day!

7 thoughts on “1 Cent Sale”

  1. It is creative, and I love the smile. But you know what I wish? I wish they had shown both sides of the coin in the eyes! I’m sitting here thinking – what does the other side of the coin look like?

    (There’s another of those English idioms – Saying “The other side of the coin” is a little like saying, “On the other hand”.)

  2. Morning Linda:

    Here we go again; learning new idioms. Thank you. You know how much I cherish these vernacular English idiomatic phrases. “The other side of the coin”. Great!

    Have a nice day with your boats.


  3. Linda’s right, and if the two sides of the coin had been used it would sort of look as if the sign was winking. The “heads” with Lincoln would be the iris and the monument is the wink.

  4. Hello Jim & Nena:

    I have a gut feeling we will have the penny for a long time. People are used to the copper coin, and will fight tooth and nail to keep it. In Panama we have the one cent coin with the same dimensions as the American coin.

    “Other countries listed below also use 1 cent coins identical in size and composition to an American penny, nearly all are either pegged to the U.S. Dollar or circulate alongside the pegged currency. Small amounts of these coins also circulate at par in the United States.

    Panama still issues a 1-centisimo coin, which is identical in size, composition and value to the U.S. cent, and circulates alongside it.

    Ecuador still issues a 1-centavo coin, and like Panama, the coin is mostly identical in composition to a U.S. cent, is equivalent in value, and also circulates alongside it.”

    I wouldn’t miss the penny if it is eliminated from our monetary system. A nickle and dime would be just fine. Pennies don’t buy anything these days.

    Take Care,


  5. I also think the penny will survive although with credit cards, paypal, etc I don’t use much coinage or paper money. In Venezuela in the 1980s, their money was loosing value so rapidly that pennies, nickels, and dimes were called púas by the merchants who simply rounded up the purchases. I managed to collect every coin from pennies to dollars, the whole collection is probably not worth a “red cent” now.

  6. Hi Jim & Nena:

    We’re on the same page. I try to stay away from physical money. Most if not all my financial transaction are with debit cards and online banking. It’s a lot faster, leaves an audit trail, and relatively secure.

    Warm Regards,


Leave a Reply

