A Mosque in Panama


Panama, because of its historical reliance on commerce, is above all an ethnic salad bowl.  The Muslim community is relatively small in Panama—approximately 10,000 members.  Most of them are businessmen doing business in the Colon Free Zone.  Some have traveled to Panama City and have opened modest used car centers.

There are two mosques in Panama City.  One is located in the neighborhood of Bellavista and the other one in the neighborhood of Vista Hermosa.  In an effort to save gas, I shot several pictures of this house of prayer which is near my residence.

This is an example of an Islamic mosque in Panama City, Panama.  Here we go.

Snapshot of the dome and minaret of an Islamic house of prayer in the neighborhood of Vista Hermosa in Panama, City, Panama. Photo ©Omar Upegui R.
A closer look of an Islamic mosque in Panama City, Panama. The Muslim community is relatively small in this country. Photo ©Omar Upegui R.
Snapshot of the beautiful minaret of the mosque located in the neighborhood of Vista Hermosa in Panama City, Panama. Photo ©Omar Upegui R.
A closer look of the minaret of the Muslim mosque in Panama City, Panama. Noice the clear blue sky above. Photo ©Omar Upegui R.
Snapshot of the upper section of the minaret of a mosque a short distance from our house in Panama City, Panama. Photo ©Omar Upegui R.

All these pictures were taken yesterday morning at approximately 09:00 a.m. (-5 GMT).  It was not the best hour to take pictures, but I had other chores to do.  Good Day.

17 thoughts on “A Mosque in Panama”

  1. Hello Omar: thanks for the nice shots of the mosque. I am planning to visit Panama City in November and would like to stay at a hostel near the mosque. Can you guide me please. Thanks in advance.

    1. Hello Abdul:

      I’m afraid there are no hostels near the area. I would suggest you visit a travel agency in your city and request them to provide options for your stay in Panama. I’m sure they will be more than glad you help you out.

      Thank you for visiting my site,

      Omar.-

  2. Hello Omar:
    I plan to take a trip to Panama sometime this August and was indeed very happy to see the pictures of mosques you have shot. Just one question, are Muslims discriminated in Panama in any way? How far are the mosques from decent residential areas ? Thank you,

    Imran Rasheed

    1. Hi Imran:

      Panama has no discrimination regarding religion or race whatsoever. The official religion of the nation is Roman Catholic, but we have the presence of the major religions of the world which coexist peacefully with each other.

      Islamic mosques are all located with a few miles from downtown Panama City. You can easily get to a mosque either by bus or taxi. No problem getting to a mosque in this country.

      Enjoy your trip to Panama.

      Omar.-

  3. Salam. Do you know any traditional Muslim food of Panama? Nice pictures. P.S. can I use for my kids project. Thanks.

  4. Asalamu Alaikum Warahma
    I already bought my ticket today on my way to Panama InshaaAllah and I have make a reservation already but InshaaAllah no matter what I will be one of the Masjids InshaaAllah
    Jazakallah for the beautiful photos of the masjids hopefully I might see you there InshaaAllah by 03/06/2013 on Monday morning I will be in Panama City InshaaAllah

  5. Assalaamu alaikum,

    My name is Salima, I plan to visit Panama with my husband and daughter on 20/11/13.- 24/11/13.i would love to meet people of the Muslim community while there. Ca you give me the address of a Mosque?

    Ma Salama
    Sister Salima.
    Trinidad.

    1. Hi Salima:

      There are two mosques you can visit while in Panama City. One is located on the Balboa Avenue, near the Panama National Lottery and the other one is in the neighborhood of Vista Hermosa. A cab will easily take you to either venue.

      Best of luck,

      Omar.-

  6. Asalamu Alaikum Warahma Hello Omar:
    I plan to take a trip to Panama sometime next year and was indeed very happy to see the pictures of mosques you have shot. Just one question, are Muslims discriminated in Panama in any way? How far are the mosques from decent residential areas ? i want stay one mounth panama can you get for boarding stay near mosque Thank you, mahmood from south africa

    1. Hello Arshad:

      No, Panama is a cosmopolitan city with people from all over the world due to the Panama Canal which is an international waterway. Muslims or any other minority communities are not discriminated in any way, shape or form in our country.

      The two existing mosques in the city are in decent residential areas very easy to reach in a taxi. You can stay in a hotel within a radius of three miles.

      Best of luck during your stay in Panama,

      Omar.-

  7. Hi Omar,
    How is Panama for people who retire there? What is the property sell for near Masjid. I would like to have your email so I can ask few questions . If that is ok with you. Salamalalkum,.

    1. Hi Bilal:

      I’m afraid I’m not in the real estate business, so don’t know much about the price of property in this country. During the last decade many expats arrived from the United States and Canada to stay and live here; therefore, the prices of land have increased immensely. This is valid for property in the provinces of Chiriquí, Los Santos, and Bocas del Toro.

      In Panama City and its suburbs, it’s almost impossible to buy property at reasonable prices due to the construction boom going on for at least two decades. I used to live in the suburbs, thirty years ago. Now I’ve been gobbled up by the city.

      I suggest you search for property prices in the Internet. You should get several web pages of real estate agents working in this part of the world.

      Regards,

      Omar.-

  8. Assalam-U-Alaikum, my name is Inshan ishmael and I am the CEO of the first 24hr Islamic TV Station IBN TV ( ibntt.com) which began operations in 2005. I will be visiting Panama in July Insha Allah and would like to do a few interviews with the local Muslims. Can you put me in touch with anyone ?

    Inshan Ishmael – ibntv8@gmail.com

  9. Aslam o alaikum Omer, can you tell me about is Halal Food is available there in Panama? like Halal meat, Halal chicken

  10. My maternal grand father name akbar Ali from azad kashmir ,now pakistan Settled in panama,married to Spanish ,have two children ,Hussain And Sarah ,maybe In USA,how to get info about him,,really curious about him,any one can help me For Allah Sake

  11. Hi. I will like to find out the names of the mosque in panama. And I will like to know if there are any muslim graves and where they are located. I am trying to find out about a friend of mine that died there.

Leave a Reply

