A Restaurant of Typical Panamanian Food at Via Argentina


As I mentioned in previous posts, you can find almost any type of food at Via Argentina.  A restaurant we visit often is El Trapiche for its typical Panamanian food.  They cook better than my wife.  (I hope she doesn’t read this or I’m a dead duck.)

If you like to try a few local dishes, then El Trapiche is a good place to go. The restaurant offers tables outside on a terrace or inside in a large room with a mock-up straw hut at one side. The old-world sugar-mill decor comes from the name, El Trapiche, which refers to a press used to extract juice from sugar cane.

Some of the local dishes you will find here are Surtido de Piscadas (assorted traditional fried starters) or a delicious Tamal de Olla.  Specially recommended: the hearty breakfasts, Corvina in Garlic Sauce, Hojalra Sandwiches and Tamal de Olla—a delicious baked cornmeal pudding with chicken and vegetables.

This place is so good it was recently recommended by The New York Times.  In a nutshell, this popular restaurant serves authentic Panamanian food in generous portions at very reasonable prices.

Below are several pictures of El Trapiche to help you get acquainted with this popular restaurant located at Via Argentina in Panama City, Panama.  Here we go.

Picture of a semi-obscure sign of El Trapiche at daybreak.  (Credit:  Omar Upegui R.)
Picture of a semi-obscure sign of El Trapiche at daybreak. (Credit: Omar Upegui R.)
Photograph of the typical Panama structure of El Trapiche with its barrel red tiled roof.  (Credit:  Omar Upegui R.)
Photograph of the typical Panama structure of El Trapiche with its barrel red tiled roof. (Credit: Omar Upegui R.)
A closer view of El Trapiche Restaurant.  An early customer uses his cellphone.  More than 2.4 million cellphones are currently used in Panama.  Just a small trivia to keep you alert.  (Credit:  Omar Upegui R.)
A closer view of El Trapiche Restaurant. An early customer uses his cellphone. More than 2.4 million cellphones are currently used in Panama. Just a small trivia to keep you alert. (Credit: Omar Upegui R.)

View of the entrace of El Trapiche.  Notice the grass growing on the roof.  (Credit:  Omar Upegui R.)
View of the entrace of El Trapiche. Notice the grass growing on the roof. (Credit: Omar Upegui R.)

As I write this post, I’m getting more and more hungry.  Better go now.  Good Day!

4 thoughts on “A Restaurant of Typical Panamanian Food at Via Argentina”

  1. The hostel where I stay when I visit PC is half way down the street around the corner from Trapiche and across from the high rise they’re building. As a result I often visit the restaurant and have been eating my way through the menu. I especially love the ceviche de pulpo. I always sit out on the terrace so I can watch the passing parade along the avenue.

    As good as the ceviche is at Trapiche, it can’t compare to the wonderful spicy ceviche de camarones you get down at the seafood market which should be another topic for your blog. The market, not the ceviche.

    P.S. The Ropa Vieja and Picadillo at the small Cuban restaurant directly across the street from Trapiche is as good as any I’ve had in the Little Havana section of Miami or in the homes of Cuban families I know here. This recipe for picadillo , which I’ve made several times at home, is spot on for flavor.

  2. Hi Oldsalt1942:

    I usually visit El Trapiche with my wife on the morning when the traffic is normal.

    I once went for lunch and the place was packed, so I left. I didn’t see the Ropa Vieja and Picadillo Restaurant when I was there last Sunday. Will take a closer look next time.

    Yep, el mercado de marisco (seafood market) is on my list when I shoot some pictures of the Coastal Strip; maybe this coming Sunday.

    Thank you for your comments. I like the way you write. Maybe you could set up your own blog sometime in the future.

    Regards,

    Omar.-

  3. I wrote a reply to yours but then noticed it was a “do not reply” from word press. If you send me your email I can send it to you because it has some photos attached and they can’t be posted in this format.

    My email is oldsalt_1942@yahoo.com

    Richard

  4. Hi,
    Yes, while El Trapiche is an incredible place to eat and has delicious Panamanian food..If any of you ever get the chance to travel down to the Peninsula de Azuero on the Way to Las Tablas there is a restaurant called “Parrillada el Pampero” it’ll be the best eats you’ve ever had! And they sell an assortment of Chrorizos as well as a home made hot sauce that is out of this world and a garlic-catsup sauce that goes great with Patacones! Take the drive it’ll be worth your time and you tummy will thank you later!

Leave a Reply

