The Magic World of Photography


Before I tackle the main topic of this post which is photography, I would like to explain what led to this post.  It has to do with concentration, kids and television.

Yesterday morning, Abdiel—our grandnephew–came to our house to pay us a social visit.  Maybe I should correct that.  He came to our house to watch television.  The moment he got out of his father’s car, he dashed to the guest room, lit up the TV set and started watching the Flintstones show.

I went to the room to say hello, but he didn’t even noticed I was in the room.  He was inside the tube and all reality around him was literally obliterated.  Only the tube mattered.

I exited the room, returned and took a picture of a kid totally concentrated on a television show.  I’m sure it happens to children all around the world.  This is what I saw.  Later on, I’ll get back to photography.  Please bear with me.

Photograph of Abdiel rocking on a plastic dog, wrapped up in a sheet and with his eyes glued to the screen of the TV set.
First photograph of Abdiel rocking on a plastic dog, wrapped up in a sheet and with his eyes glued to the screen of the TV set.
Second photograph of Abdiel, but retouched or modified by my friend Michael Moore, a professional photographer.
Second photograph of Abdiel, but retouched or modified by my friend Michael Moore, a professional photographer.
Third photograph of Abdiel modified by Michael Moore recreating the effects of a masterpiece painting.
Third photograph of Abdiel modified by Michael Moore recreating the effects of a masterpiece painting.

Now let me explain what I mean by the magic world of photography.  I wanted the photograph to express a subject in total concentration on a television program.  To create that effect,  the highlighted subject should be the kid and the television set.  All the rest should be fuzzy and washed out.  This outer reality meant nothing to the child absorbed by the tube.

This is what Michael did with his photographic skills.  Notice how bright Abdiel and the television screen look against the  foggy surroundings in the second and third photographs.  The first photograph processed by me, barely blurred the scene,  but the desired effects I was looking for were not there.  I still don’t have the magic touch professional photographers do.

The third photograph stands out because it was successful in recreating a masterpiece painting.  Notice how Michael added color to the sheet.  It has that soft look of a painting and not the sharp details of a photograph.  The cherry on the cake were the different frames used.

If you are a serious blogger who wants to add images to your text content, learning photography is a wise decision.  I take this opportunity to thank Michael Moore for his dedication and support in preparing this post together with me.  I hope you have enjoyed the photographic morphing of Abdiel.   Good Day.

6 thoughts on “The Magic World of Photography”

  1. lovely effects. I would love to be able to work in the visual media form … but it just eludes me. I’m much more analytical, word based. Playing with musical notes also works for me (patterns and the like).

    very envious!!

  2. Hello ggw_bach:

    I’m just getting my feet wet with photography. I purchased a small digital Canon camera in December and dedicate a few hours a day on how to use it.

    I’m a number man. Been an Audior, Accountant, Bookkeeper and Comptroller all my life. Blogging and photography are my latest hobbies, and I love them.

    I’m sure you can do these tricks too. Go ahead and plunge into the magic world of photography.

    Best of luck,

    Omar.-

  3. That truly is very good, Omar.

    I use photographs for my text posts but don’t have the time or wherewithal to do my own photography. It does make a significant difference as you illustrate here.

  4. Hello gryphonscry:

    I’ve found photography to be both useful and fun. It enhances your blog and at the same time keeps your eyes wide open for future photographs.

    Usually we look at the world, but do not actually see it. I have the time now, since I’m retired, and want to recover my sight and enjoy creation. 🙂

    Thanks for dropping by. I like to read your comments.

    Regards,

    Omar.-

  5. Omar

    –> “…the photographic morphing of Abdiel.”

    Perhaps a title for a book or a chapter in a book with a wider scope? It sounds very interesting and certainly avant-garde (original).

    I believe there is a book inside of you waiting to come out.🙂

  6. Hello Michael:

    The post came out fine thanks to you. The three pictures showed subtle changes of the subject, but still maintained the general theme we wanted.

    Maybe, who knows…a book could come out if we join our heads together.

    Thank you for your positive comments. They push me to go ahead and try something new.

    My regards to Rosa,

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

