Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 25th, 2009


One night, a policeman was busy making the rounds in his small town. Around midnight he spotted two old maids sitting in a car in a used car lot. The policeman approached the car and asked the ladies, “Excuse me, but why are you sitting in a car on this used car lot after business hours? Are you trying to steal this car?”

“Good heavens, no!” one of the ladies said, “I just bought this car today, officer.”

“Have you come back tonight to drive your car home?” the policeman asked.

“Not at all,” the woman replies, “I don’t have a driver’s license.”

“Then why did you buy this car?”

“Well, we were told by our friends that if we bought a car from this used car lot, that we’d get screwed. Now we’re just waiting here for our screwing, and we’re not leaving until we get it!”

How about giving me a faint smile on this one?  Good Day.

Source:  Bits & Pieces

Blogged with the Flock Browser

Read Full Post »


One of the greatest attractions of the Super Bowl is the creativity of its ads.  I understand companies pay thousands of dollars for a few seconds, because the audience viewing the show is huge.

Creating ads is no easy stuff.  It really requires lots of imagination.  For example, the following ad created by Graffiti BBDO, of Bucharest, Romania for Aspirin Pluc C is a clear example of what I mean by the stretching the imagination.

Take a look.

Ad of Aspirin Pluc C:  Street created by Graffiti BBDO, Chucharest, Romania.

Ad of Aspirin Pluc C: Street created by Graffiti BBDO, Bucharest, Romania.

Read Full Post »


Every time I go and visit el Casco Viejo, I find that things are changing for the better.  As you probably know, I was there last week in an effort to take some photographs for Lingua Franca, and also to find out what’s happening in that old part of the city.

I saw that the whole area is being renovated by both the public and private sector.  The restored buildings look exactly as they were when they were first built.  This is something that made me feel good.  Our Casco Viejo can easily compete with the ones in San Juan (Puerto Rico), Havana (Cuba) or Cartagena (Colombia).

For this post, I’ve selected a metallic statue.  In fact, there were two of them probably created by the same artist.  I almost stumbled into the statutes.  They were right there in the middle of the aisle in front of Las Bóvedas in la Plaza de Francia (France’s Square).  They were perched on several cement blocks.   One was a metallic seamstress and the other was a street peddler pushing a metallic cart.  They instantly reminded me of Pablo Picasso and Salvador Dalí.

After I returned home, I sent a whole bunch of Casco Viejo photographs to my friend, Michael Moore for his evaluation and advice.  He helps me by highlighting my mistakes in an effort to make me a better photographer.   I appreciate his support and guidance.  He also improves the photographs to levels I would never imagined could be reached.  From a simple street “point-and-shoot” photograph, Michael transforms them into exquisite photographic pieces.

For today, I’ll include several photos of the surrealistic metallic seamstress.  Tomorrow I will include  pictures of the metallic peddler and his cart.  Enjoy the artistic creations of Michael Moore, author of the Web site dubbed, Biographies of the Heart Photography.

This is what I mean by transforming normal photos into something else.

Photograph of a metallic lady and her sewing machine located at Las Bóvedas in the Casco Viejo of Panama City, Panama.

Photograph of a metallic lady and her sewing machine located at Las Bóvedas in the Casco Viejo of Panama City, Panama.

The same metallic seamstress, but this time the intensity of the colors can be appreciated.

The same metallic seamstress, but this time the intensity of the colors can be appreciated.

Michael switched from a color photograph to a brownish photograph which adds charm to the picture.

Michael switched from a color photograph to a brownish photograph which adds charm to the picture.

This time Michael adds a little bit a color to the photograph and intensifies its basic colors.  Again, the attractiveness of the picture is enhanced.

This time Michael adds a little bit of greenish color to the photograph and intensifies its basic colors. Again, the attractiveness of the picture is enhanced.

When I purchased my digital camera in December, I had no idea photography was so exciting.  I thought it was just pressing the shutter and voilà a wonderful picture would magically emerge.  It requires a whole lot more than that.  I’m so glad I got into this hobby.  It’s like good wine, it gets better and better as time tics by.  Good Day.

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 606 other followers