Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 8th, 2009


If you write frequently to make a living, be very careful with your punctuation, it could put you into a lot of  trouble.  Notice the effect of the following Dear John Love Letter with different punctuation: 

Dear John:

I want a man who knows what love is all about. You are generous, kind, thoughtful. People who are not like you admit to being useless and inferior. You have ruined me for other men. I yearn for you. I have no feelings whatsoever when we’re apart. I can be forever happy—will you let me be yours?

Gloria

Dear John:

I want a man who knows what love is. All about you are generous, kind, thoughtful people, who are not like you. Admit to being useless and inferior. You have ruined me. For other men, I yearn. For you, I have no feelings whatsoever. When we’re apart, I can be forever happy. Will you let me be?

Yours,

Gloria

Source:  Bits & Pieces

Blogged with the Flock Browser

Read Full Post »


Pizdaus, The House of Pics We Like

Credit: Pizdaus, The House of Pics We Like

Read Full Post »


If you have been following my posts, you already know that lately, I have been dedicating some time to photography.  Thanks to my friends, Michael Moore,  Abraham Lincoln and Don Ray, I learned to appreciate how beautiful this activity is.  In December I gave myself a digital camera (Canon PowerShot A720 IS) as a Birthday present and have been taking pictures of my area and writing about them here at Lingua Franca.  As time passes, I know I will get better.  As the saying goes, “Practice makes perfection.”

Working with images as well as with music files, demands lots of memory.  That was one of my weak areas of my old computer.  I only had 768 MB.  It performed O.K., not not real well, if you know what I mean.  When editing large photographs, the computer sometimes crawled.  

To solve the problem I went to Yoytec Computer and purchased a one Gigabyte Kingston memory card.  This will boost my system to satisfactory levels. Yoytec is a reputable computer supplies store in Panama City with excellent prices.  Some of their prices are even lower than those in the United States.  You can place your order via the Internet and later go to their store and pick up your merchandise.  I was amazed at the number of people who were standing in line last Friday to buy stuff.

This is how my new Kingston 1 GB memory card looks like before installation.  I paid only $38.50 for it.  Here we go.

 

Close up view of 1 GB Kingston memory card on my computer desk.

Close up view of 1 GB Kingston memory card on my computer desk.

If you are a computer geek, the following technical information, could be interesting, if not, just skip this part.

  • Description:  Kingston 1 GB DDR DIMM PC3200 (400 Mhz) CL3
  • Model:  KVR400X64C3A/1G
  • Capacity:  1 GB (1024 MB)
  • System Bus:  400 MHz
  • Type of Slot:  DDR PC3200 DIMM of 184 pins
  • Other Information:  Standard 128 M x 64 Non-ECC 400 MHz 184-pin Unbuffered DIMM (SDRAM-DDR), 2.6 V, CL3, Gold)
  • Place of Manufacture:  China

Now I have a better tool to play with my photographs and my camera.  Wow!, this is fun.  Good Day.

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 554 other followers